No Room

Behold, I stand at the
door, and knock
Big America, Big America,
let me come in.
 
     No. We are not blind.
     You might be a wolf in the
     only clothes on your back
     sent to swallow us whole.
 
Please. I no longer have
a place to lay my heart.
My smile is broken and
devils fill my dreams.
 
     No. We may be pigs
     but we are not fools.
     We know your wretchedness
     could be a subtle ruse.
 
Please. I have long heard
of the brave flame shining in
the night sky, held by
a mother’s stately arm.
 
     No. As the Innkeeper once
     said: There is no room.
     Our great plans simply
     do not include you.

 

 

 

 

 

 

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to No Room

  1. pastordt says:

    Thank you. You have captured it, painfully, truly.

  2. Wonderfully written, as always. I just wish it weren’t so damn true.

  3. Hope says:

    This makes me so sad……. Very well written.

  4. Jim Harrison says:

    Truth. Masterfully done, John. Spoken from the heart of the gospel!

  5. Thanks for writing this. This is what embracing fear leads to.

  6. Annie B says:

    Woke up this morning with the words on the Statue of Liberty in my head. And now this.

  7. Christine Perica says:

    So perfectly said! I will not stand for this! It is time for action.

  8. Pingback: On confusing Jesus with the Statue of Liberty | bridginghope

Leave a Reply

